President to start talks with political parties for EC formation today

President to start talks with political parties for EC formation today


DHAKA, Dec 20 2021 (BSS) –

President Md Abdul Hamid is scheduled  to  sit for dialogue  with registered political parties from today for formation of  an independent, neutral and acceptable Election Commission (EC) .

“On the first day, President M Abdul Hamid will hold dialogue with Jatiya Party (JaPa), the main opposition political party in the 11th Jatiya Sangsad (parliament) at Bangabhaban here at 4 pm,” President’s Press Secretary Md Joynal Abedin told BSS this evening.

The head of the state will hold talks gradually with other political parties registered with the Election Commission, ahead of the 12th Jatiya Sangsad polls.

Talking to the BSS, Jatiya Party Secretary General Mujibul Haque Chunnu said, “An eight-member delegation led by party chairman GM Quader will attend the dialogue with the honourable President at 4 pm tomorrow.”

The president is also scheduled to talk with JaSaD on Tuesday .

Preparations to hold the dialogue is going on in full swing as Bangabhaban has a plan to end the talks within the shortest possible time, the Bangabhaban spokesman said.
The President is likely to hold dialogue with more than one political party in a day and Bangabhaban is working on it.

Abedin said dialogue is likely to be held with the ruling party Awami League sometime in between talks.

Earlier, a series of dialogues were held with the political parties prior to the ninth, 10th and 11th Jatiya Sangsad (JS) parliamentary elections.

In line with the Constitution, the President has the authority to appoint a Chief Election Commissioner  (CEC) and more than four Election Commissioners (ECs).

In the last few terms, the President formed the election commission (EC)  based on the recommendations of the ‘Search Committee’.

The tenure of the incumbent EC is scheduled to expire on February 14 next year.

During this period, the President will form a new EC, which will help conduct the 12th parliamentary polls.